What to bring to uni/ college?

 

Now that I’m going into my second year at university I can finally look back at my first year at uni and question how the heck I made it through the year.

My first day at uni did not really go to plan I actually spent the whole day in my room throwing up… Tragic. I know.

I also forgot a lot of stuff, and by a lot I mean for some reason I thought I could survive the year with no pillows, towels and cups to name a few of the forgotten items. Down below is a list of the things that you will probably forget but most definitely need.


Room Essentials:

  • Passport

You may not be travelling during term time but there will be an instance when you will need this whether it be for opening a new bank account or as backup ID when drunk you loses your driving licence.

  • Ethernet cable

Most bedrooms will have one and the internet is way faster so get one and use it when you can.

  • Extension cord

Everyone likes to have their phone close to hand so charging it ALL the way over by your desk is just a hassle. Also really handy when you have friends round.

  • Laundry basket

Get one thats easy to carry, I just used an IKEA bag so I could get to and from the laundry room.

  • Clothes airer

It’s way easier to dry your clothes in your room and saves  you some money. My uni dryers were TERRIBLE you could only put half of your load in if you wanted it to dry properly and it was an extra £2. It’s a no from me.

  • Mattress topper

I know this sounds very extravagant but they’re not even that expensive and when you feel your mattress in halls you’ll understand. This extra layer of foamy lusciousness will save your back.

  • Hangers

You’ll probably forget these, everyone does.

Bathroom Essentials:

  • Bath mat

Having a puddle in your bathroom constantly is not fun. Its just cold and means you go through about 3 pairs of socks a day.

  • Detergent pods

SO much easier than carrying a massive detergent bottle/box to the laundry room and most of them are 2 in 1.

  • Room spray

Uni rooms are obviously small and so it does tend to get kind of stuffy and smells start to get weird. Also if you’re sharing a toilet then get some to save yourself some embarrassment lol

  • Bathrobe

There will be a time when you are naked and the fire alarm goes off. Its probably not a fire but you will still panic and debate running out stark naked.

Stationary Essentials:

  • Hard drive

Losing a 3000 lab report worth only 10% just doesn’t seem worth it does it? It also makes you feel very professional.

  • Post-it notes

Great for leaving passive aggressive notes at lazy flatmates.

  • Stapler
  • Scissors

Story time: I forgot scissors, I was very stubborn and decided I didn’t need to waste a whole £2 on them (ridiculous I know) so I end up using my teeth for everything. It was all going so well until I sliced my gums trying to open up my new hard drive.

Kitchen Essentials:

  • Tupperware

At uni you will learn that food is precious, especially stuff that didn’t come out of the freezer. So this is great for storing food until mould grows on it.

  • Baking trays

Considering most of your food will be cooked in the oven you’ll most probably forget these.

  • Weighing scales

Not an essential but if you’re super duper cute like me and want to bake a cake for your flatmate then you’ll need this.

4 thoughts on “What to bring to uni/ college?

  1. Loved this! I’m going in to my second year too! I never moved out in my first year but I move out in 3 weeks, I’m nervous but excited, this has reminded me about stuff I would’ve forgotten! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

